The Memory Chronicles: Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans

I cannot describe my love for this book; I read it in one sitting and couldn’t sleep afterwards for thinking about it.

Felicia is dead, and at first we presume that her hive of memory chambers is a modern variation of heaven, but as we delve deeper into the story, we find out that she is in fact in Level 2; Heaven’s waiting room.

The story represents human weaknesses, such as our willingness to forget bad memories instead of learning from them. This learning curve is the change that we see in Felicia after she escapes from her hive, and discovers that there’s much more to Level 2 than she initially thought.

I particularly liked the way that whenever Felicia entered a memory chamber, I knew that another piece of the story was going to be unravelled; I was fondest of the memories of Neil, as they were impeccably written, and it was a refreshing change for the love story between them to have occurred in a church setting.

The only bad point about this book is that we have to wait until 2014 for the sequel!

(Originally written for



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s